Welcome to Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

                                                           हेमवती नंदन बहुगुणा गढ़वाल विश्वविद्यालय(केंद्रीय विश्वविद्यालय)

                                                   HEMVATI NANDAN BAHUGUNA GARHWAL UNIVERSITY( A Central University )

BGR Campus Pauri

General Information of the Campus

Historical Background

Pauri campus was established as a Government Degree College in 1971 with 7 undergraduate courses (Hindi, Sanskrit, English, Economics, Political Science, Geography and History). In the year 1972, the undergraduate courses in science subjects were also sanctioned (Zoology, Botany, Chemistry, Physics and Maths). In 1973 the Government of Uttar Pradesh opened two new universities (Kumaun and Garhwal). In 1974 the college was recognized as Post graduate college by admitting PG courses in 3 subjects (Hindi, Economics and Geography). Law classes began in the campus during 1976 (LL.B.). In 1977 a new subject Home Science was started at degree level and four other subjects were elevated as postgraduate (Political Science, History, English and Maths). During the year 1977, the campus was declared as BGR Campus of Garhwal University. During 1984 to 1991, all the science subjects were allowed to teach PG courses (Zoology, Botany, Chemistry, Maths and Physics). Statistics and Geology started during 2003-04 as UG subjects. During 2006 self financed vocational course LL. M. was started. B Ed classes were started during 2008 as Self finance course. During the session 2016-17 a new faculty of Commerce was started with B Com. As regular course of the university. The research work was also started in each PG department from time to time since 1977.

Schools and Departments:

Sr. No. School Departments
1 School of Life Sciences Zoology, Botany
2 School of Sciences Physics, Chemistry, Maths, Statistics, Home Science
3 School of Earth Sciences Geology, Geography
4 School of Arts and Communication Languages Hindi, Sanskrit, English
5 School of Humanities and Social Sciences Economics, Political Science, History, Sociology
6 School of Education Education
7 School of Law Law
8 School of Commerce Commerce


Campus Director- Head of the Institution- Prof R S Negi

Students Welfare Board

Deputy Dean of Students’ Welfare - Prof Arun Singh Rawat
Assistant Dean of Students’ Welfare - Prof. Anita Rudola


  • To look after the welfare of students in the campus.
  • To conduct Students’ Union Election
  • To provide career counseling and placement facility to students.
  • To select and distribute various scholarships to students (SC, ST, OBC, Minority scholarships; PG and Research scholarships and Late Dr Alam Singh Rawat memorial scholarships to meritorious and sports students).
  • To look after the sports, cultural and other academic activities.

Proctorial Board.

Deputy Proctor: Prof Piyush Sinha
Assistant Proctors: Dr M C Purohit, Dr C B Kotnala, Dr Kusum Dobriyal, Dr M C Bharti and Dr Laxmi Danosi


  • To maintain General discipline among the students.
  • To assist the administration in maintenance of law and order.

Anti Ragging and Women harassment redressal Committee

Chairman: Prof Rehana Zaidi
Members: Prof Anita Rudola, Prof Rekha Naithani, Dr Poonam Bisht Rawat, Dr Kusum Dobriyal, Ms. Laxmi Danosi


Campus is running the NSS since last about thirty years for the students to orient their thinking towards the service of society to which they belong. Its activities are extended to holding general training camps, participation in the national program like pulse polio campaign, elocutions, seminars on environmental awareness, disaster management, water conservation, youth parliament on aids, youth festival tours and trekking etc. Presently there are three NSS units in our campus. The Program officers of the different units are Dr. Ram Prakash and Dr Sunil Bhandari


HNB Garhwal University is providing golden opportunity to her students by running the NCC. The unit of Pauri Campus came into existence on 5.8.2000 and since then it is running successfully.57 cadets were enrolled for the first batch. Currently there is a Platoon of 75 Cadets. The Head of NCC is Dr C B Kotnala.


There are 2 hostels running at present.

Boys Hostel – Present capacity 86;
Girls Hostel - Present Capacity 40
Hostel Wardens - Dr C B Kotnala (Boys), Ms Laxmi Danosi (Girls)


There is a Central Library. Most of the Departments have their own Library for PG students – Library Incharge- Prof R Kala, Librarian- Ms. Minta Chauhan

Career Counseling and Placement Cell

There is a Career Counseling and Placement Cell in the Campus. : Prof P. Sinha and Dr Kusum Dobriyal are looking after it.


Currently Prof. R Dangwal is Sports Secretary. Other supporting members are Dr Koshal Kumar and Mr Mahavir Dhanai.

Campus organizes different Inter collegiate and North Zone tournaments. Sports activities include Athletics, Cricket, Football, Badminton, Table Tennis, Chess, Kabaddi, weight lifting and Hockey.

Curricular aspect

The Campus has 19 teaching (14 pursuing Research) departments under 8 schools and offers B.A., B.Sc., M.A., M.Sc., B.Ed., LL.B., LL.M. B. Com and Ph.D. programs.

CBCS was introduced in all PG programs during the academic session 2011-12 and in UG programs from 2015-16.

Curriculum is reviewed regularly through BOS keeping in view the current necessity with removal of obsolescence.

Academic flexibility is offered for students in terms of choice of subject combination.

Career based or skill developing subjects are added in curriculum. Self study/ inter disciplinary studies are also incorporated.

Students’ feedback is received and Special lectures, apart from routine teaching, are organized to achieve academic excellence.

Admission Procedure

Admission procedure is based on Merit list for B Sc, B Com and BA and admission test for M Sc., M.A., B.Ed., LL.B. and LL.M. Reservation of seats is as per Central University rules. Detail is available on admission brochure.


  1. The Campus has a Guest House with 08 suits with all basic facilities. Prof. P P Badoni is the Teacher in charge of the guest house.
  2. Basic facility available are: Students’ Union Office, Girls Common Room, Canteen, Water purifier, toilets (Separately for Boys and Girls), etc are adequate.
  3. A multipurpose hall with indoor TT, Gymnasium, multipurpose hall each in Science , Arts and Education and Moot court in Law Department have been established.

Campus Development Committee

To assess and propose plans for the infrastructure development of the Campus.

Prof R S Negi , Campus Director Chairperson
Prof A K Dobriyal, Ex Campus Director Co- Chairperson
Prof Arun Singh Rawat, DDSW Member
Prof. Piyush Sinha, Deputy Proctor Member
Prof Rakesh Kala, Incharge Library Member
Prof P P Badoni, President Teachers’ Association Member
Sri Soban Singh Negi- President Non Teaching Ass Member
Ahskar Rawat, President Students’ Association Member

AQAR Coordinator:

Prof Piyush Sinha


Teachers of the campus have formed a registered academic society named as “Society for Himalayan Action Research and Development” which is regularly publishing two journals (Journal of Mountain Research ISSN 0974-3030 and Himalayan Journal of Social Sciences and Humanities, ISSN 0975-9891) since 2006 and organizing seminars on different aspects.

Contact us

Mailing Address- Prof R S Negi, Director, HNB Garhwal University Campus, Pauri Garhwal- 246001, UK.

Phone : 01368- 222275, 221509 (Office)
Fax : 01368-221509

E-mail : directorbgrcp@gmail.com

Last Updated on 09/06/2023