Welcome to Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University

Department of Law

                                                           हेमवती नंदन बहुगुणा गढ़वाल विश्वविद्यालय(केंद्रीय विश्वविद्यालय)

                                           HEMVATI NANDAN BAHUGUNA GARHWAL UNIVERSITY( A Central University )

About Department

Brief information about Department

Departmental of Law, HNB Garhwal University, Campus PAURI GARHWAL 2022-23
Information for University Website
1. History of the Department- By the effort of then Vice Chancellor Mr. V D Bhatt, LL.B. (three year)
course was started in 1976-77 in this Constituent College of the University. Dr. RN Gairola became
the first Head of Department. During the year 2001 Constituent colleges declared Campuses of the
University by the State Government. LL.M. (two year) self-finance course was started in the year
2006 and Ph.D. in Law was started from 2015. After elevation of this University to the Central
University on 15.01.2009 faculties converted into various Schools. Now Law department is under
School of Law.
2. Programme Offered
(i) LL.B. (Professional) – Three year course with 06 semesters on CBCS pattern. Admission
through CUET (Central University Entrance Examination) with reservations as per
Government of India. Minimum eligibility is 45% in the qualifying examination for
general candidates, 42% for OBC and 40% for SC/ST candidates. Rules & Regulations are
changed time to time by the University and regulating bodies.
(ii) LL.M. – Two year course with 04 semesters on CBCS pattern. Admission through CUET
with reservations as per Government of India. Minimum eligibility is 50% in LL.B. (Three
Year)/B.A.LL.B.(Five Year) courses.
(iii) Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) – Admission through University Entrance Examination.
Minimum eligibility is 55% in LL.M.
Candidates can get detail information about the above courses from Advertisements,
Prospectus and University website displayed by the University time to time.
3. Faculty Information- In the Department of Law only three are regular faculty, namely-
(1) Prof. (Dr.) Subhash Chandra Gupta, LL.M.,DIL.,Ph.D., Head-Deptt. of Law
(2) Dr. Ram Prakash, LL.M.,Ph.D., Asstt. Professor
(3) Mr. MUkesh Rawat, LL.M., NET
4. Research/Academic activities –
Presently 03 students are doing Ph.D. in the department of Law. 03 students submitted your thesis in
December 2022 and 01 student awarded degree of Ph.D. in 2018.

Last Updated on 23/02/2023